cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How can we be notified when Voice (PRI) provider is having problems?

mitchell helton
Level 1
Level 1

Hello!

Hopefully I'm posting this in the right section.  If not, I apologize, and hope you can place it where it belongs.  :)

Anyway, we've had this happen twice in less than a week now, where our provider has some type of outage (they haven't been able to tell us what's happening yet) that prevents calls from coming into (or leaving) our network.

I'm still a novice when it comes to voice, so I got TAC involved and they said there's a problem with the provider or our network because calls aren't making it to the CUCM server when we're having issues.  I feel pretty confident in saying there's not an internal network issue as I've got SNMP monitoring and Syslog on all our devices enabled. Additionally, on-net calls are working perfectly during these outages.  However, the provider is telling me they're not seeing anything on their end.

What I would like is to be notified that there's a problem before a user tells me they dropped a call, can't call out, etc.  Is there anything I can do (similar to IP SLA with routing) that could monitor something on the provider network so I would know when it's down?  Or is this just wishful thinking?

I hope this make sense... thanks in advance!

mitch

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Gordon Ross
Level 9
Level 9

The symptoms you describe (dropped call, call not connecting) can be attributed to both a problem and normal behavior. A dropped call is indistinguishable from a normal call clear, and a call not connecting could be wrong number, mobile not switched on, etc. So you'll have lots of false positives to go with your real problems.