Views
Helpful
Replies

incoming called-number . needed or not

mahmoodmkl
Level 7
Level 7

Hi,

I am new to telephony and trying to learn things which i dont understand fully.

Please let me know whether the incoming called-number . is required under the dail-peer which is pointing to the CUCM.

I understand that it is needed under POTS dail-peer if you using DID.

Thanks           

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Sure you do, you always want to control which dial-peer you are hitting, so using this is like default route catch all, otherwise a default dial-peer 0 would be used, which may have adverse affect on your desired behavior.

HTH, please rate all useful posts!

Chris

View solution in original post

This is required for both POTS and voip dial-peer. I dont know what your setup is but it is best practice to do this so you can have control on what dial-peers your call is matching. The default dial-peer 0 is often used when no dial-peers are matched for the inbound leg to the gateway. As I explained, this dial-peer by default has G729 as the codec, has VAD enabled..which you do not want on a voip call. For you to change the characteristics you need to define a dial-peer that will match the inbound leg of your call and then define what codec to use, dtmf-relay, disable VAD etc...This has caused many issues for people in the past..

Please rate all useful posts

"opportunity is a haughty goddess who waste no time with those who are unprepared"

The dial-peer pointing to cucm can be both inbound and outbound from the gateway's perspective. When a call comes in from cucm to the gateway, then that will be inbound. When a call is sent to cucm from the gateway, then that will be outbound. You need dial-peers for both

dial-peer voice 1 voip

description inbound from cucm

inoming called number .

dtmf-relay h245-alpha

voice-class codec 1

no vad

dial-peer voice 2 voip

description outbound to cucm

destination-pattern 74..

session target ipv4:10.10.10.10