Views
Helpful
Replies

incoming called-number . needed or not

mahmoodmkl
Level 7
Level 7

Hi,

I am new to telephony and trying to learn things which i dont understand fully.

Please let me know whether the incoming called-number . is required under the dail-peer which is pointing to the CUCM.

I understand that it is needed under POTS dail-peer if you using DID.

Thanks           

24 Replies 24

Deji is correct (+5), you should always have inbound pots and voip dial peers for the reason stated, otherwise you run into a risk of defaulting to dial-peer 0.

Chris

Dear Chris

yes , that is for sure that all have to do pots dial-peer & voip dial-peer. Our question for incoming called-number command , where should i put it ?. I know and find the URL , all inocming called-number under pots and if i did not put it , there is no issue. Please advise , i tested now on my lab , because this post make me have doubt on my previos projects and i configured without add inocming called-number  under dial-peer voip and call is very perfect and i tried also on my token on INE , with the same configuration and there is no issue.

Thank you

Islam,

Ask your self this question..How are you matching incoming voip leg of your call to the gateway? Each voip call has two legs, the inbound leg and the outboung leg. There are more than one way to match on both legs, the question is how are you matching yours.? incomin called number . is one way of matching as this capturs all calls inbound to the gateway, that includes calls coming in from CUCM and if you have a sip trunk calls coming in from your telco or if the gateway is connected to another gateway, calls coming in from that gateway..any inbound voip leg is matched on this dial-peer. If you dont have it, then how are you matching yours?

Please rate all useful posts

"opportunity is a haughty goddess who waste no time with those who are unprepared"

Islam,