cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

IP Communicator - No need to know MAC address of laptop?

voip7372
Level 4
Level 4

I saw this on Cisco’s site.  Does this mean you can configure softphone for a user and if the user changes to a new laptop later on (which menas the MAC address will be different) it doesn’t matter?  No MAC address update needed by the system administrator?   It would be nice if we don't have to worry about the MAC address of the laptop a person is using because when you have a large group of users, there will be quite a few laptop replacements going on over time.

Feature:  Non MAC-address based device names. 

Benefit:  For Cisco Unified Communications Manager 6.1(3) or later, device names are not based on MAC addresses, so refreshing your PC is easier.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/voicesw/ps6788/phones/ps5475/data_sheet_c78-669663.html

Pardon all my questions.  I'm still learning about CUCM before ours is officially installed, soon.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Yes that is correct. You can use their initials and last name eg AOKANLAWON, DOKANLAWON, GOKANLAWON. That way you dont run into name duplication

Please rate all useful posts

"opportunity is a haughty goddess who waste no time with those who are unprepared"

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

Gergely Szabo
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

yes. Your CUCM administrator may choose to use an ASCII string as the identifier for your IP Communicator.

G.