Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Community Member

Multiple questions regarding 7960 IP phones

Hello all,

We recently rolled out Cisco 7900 IP phones (7940, 7960, 7970) to one of our offices in New York and this is my first attempt at being the IP phone support guy. I have a few remaining questions left to answer from some of the end users and can't seem to find the answers anywhere.

Could someone out there be so kind as to help me with these?

Questions from users:

1- When I'm on a conference call, I want all other incoming calls to go directly to voicemail so I'm not disturbed on the conference call. How do I do this?

2- Everyone else has a Confrn softkey and an AbbrDial softkey except for my phone? How do I get these softkeys to appear on my phone?

3- On a shared line (same directory number on 2 phones), if one person is on the shared line and a 2nd call comes in on that line, will the 2nd call be shown on the display of both phones?

4- Our office cannot dial 9, then 411 for information. When we call it, we hear 2 rings and then "we're sorry. your call cannot be completed as dialed. Please check the number and dial again or dial the operator for help. This is a recording". Does this mean we don't have 411 as a service on our PRI or is something up with the dial plan/routing perhaps?

Thanks in advance for the help.

4 REPLIES
Community Member

Re: Multiple questions regarding 7960 IP phones

Q1 you can use the iDivert key to push the call to your voicemail

Q2 check your phone template and see if you are using the same template as the others

Q3 Yes

Hall of Fame Super Silver

1. You can use iDivert or set the "busy trigger" setting on the line to 1 which will disable call waiting and force second call into callForwardBusy which is typically set to VM