Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

Newbie needs help moving existing ip phone and router setup

Hi,

My wife's company is moving her from a satellite office into our home office so they can close the office and save money.

I'm trying to help setup the ip phone - the network support/admin guy at her work isn't very helpful or knowledgeable, but I know even less than him.

I'm a software developer, so I understand technology, but I've only ever setup our home/home office ADSL modem/router and WiFi router/access point.

The company's main office is located in Sydney (Australia).  We are located in Melbourne (Australia).

In the satellite office, the ip phone was connected to a Cisco VPN router.  The router was connected to network infrastructure provided by the landlord.

The router connected over the internet to the main office.

We are trying to move the Cisco VPN router and the ip phone to our home office.

The Cisco router says "877 M" on the front.

The router also has labels (and barcodes) on the bottom that say:

"Cisco 871"

"Cisco 877"

and "Cisco 878".

Our home office has an ADSL2+ modem/router and a WiFi access point/router.

The Cisco router and the ip phone have been turned off, disconnected at the satellite office and carried to the home office.  Neither device has been reset, they should both retain all their configuration settings.

1. Is it possible to connect the Cisco router to our network and have it make the VPN connection to the main office so that the ip phone can be connected to the Cisco router and work with the main office?

2. If so, how do I connect the Cisco router to the home network, and how do I connect the ip phone to the Cisco router?