Views
Helpful
Replies

PVDM-32, 1 T1, no meetme conferencing?

emphillips00
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am a bit new to CallManager Express, and I could use some help understanding DSP allocation. I just recently upgraded to CME 7.0 and would like to test out meetme conferencing. I have a 2821 router with a PVDM2-32, a VWIC-1MFT-T1 for my primary T1 voice, and a VIC2-4FXO for POTS backup. My understanding is since the PVDM2-32 has two DSPs on it, one could be dedicated to voice call processing and the other to conferencing. I do not need g729, so I do not need any transcoding.

This is a test box, and another DSP module is serveral thousand dollars, so if it were possible to test meetme conferences with just a single PVDM2-32 I would be incredibly thankful.

When I try to configure my dspfarm profile, I am getting the following output, showing 0 sessions available:

TESTROUTER(config)#dspfarm profile 1 conference

TESTROUTER(config-dspfarm-profile)#maximum sessions ?

<0-0> Number of sessions assigned to this profile

When I do a "show diag" I can see the PVDM2-32:

PVDM Slot 0:

32-channel (G.711) Voice/Fax PVDMII DSP SIMM PVDM daughter card

!snip

Product (FRU) Number : PVDM2-32

Could anyone help me out and let me know if my understanding is wrong, and I would need another DSP to do conferencing, or if there is something I can do.

Thanks!

-Eric

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

yes, that would take only 14 channels and you should be able to configure the CFB, sometimes you need to reload the box after shutting down all the interfaces because they won't de-associate the resources. just in case.

usually the way to do this is interfaces first, other resources later, but you might want to do it backwards to make sure you get the whole DSP.