cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Spontaeous New Calls When Call is Transferred

jcp408ADP
Level 1
Level 1

This is for CUCM 8.6 with 7945's with SIP image SIP45.9-3-1SR1-1S.

When internal call is placed and the called party goes off-hook then sometimes one or the other phone will spontaneously initiate a new call which puts the original call on hold.   Additionally, the new call immediately gets a reorder tone rather than a dial tone.

We have ruled out CTI manager/applications.

The only telltale in the CM logs is:

linkConsultativeCall unable to auto link primary call on line 1 - no call on feature hold|

for which we cannot determine the root source.

I have been doing Cisco UC/Collab for 15 years and have never encountered behavior like this.

6 Replies 6

tim.frazee
Level 4
Level 4

any third party call control apps in the mix? jabber for X, lync, etc.?

I thought of call control because they do have CyberTech call recording which has a CTI hook.  I performed tests with CTI Manager services stopped and the problem surfaced.

Here's more detail as to what is going on cluster wide.

• The issue only happens about 50% of the time
  • Between the caller and called phones it varies as to which one has the spontaneous event
  • Only phones in one remote (g729) region show this behavior.

William Bell
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Aside from the statement that the original call is put on hold, the symptoms sound a lot like a codec negotiation issue between the two phones. You say that a new call is initiated, do you see anything in the CM traces to indicate the destination of the new call? How do you know the original call is put on hold? Is there hold music? Do you see something in the trace to indicate the call is put on hold? 

I am thinking that we would need a more complete CM trace (Detailed level) before we can narrow down root cause. 

-Bill

HTH -Bill (b) http://ucguerrilla.com (t) @ucguerrilla

Please remember to rate helpful responses and identify