Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TCL and .au file questions

I have some 2821's that I was running tcl scripts referencing .au files, and saw some really strange results that I was wondering if someone could shed light on.

1.  I was able to get one tcl working out of 7 (14 if I count both routers).  I took that and cloned it 6 times for the first router, renaming and editing ONLY the reference of the sound file, and most didn't work.  After a reboot, a few more worked. For the ones that didn't, I cloned the good one again (same as before), and copied them to the router again, rebooted, and now they worked.  NOTE:  For the audio, I used Cisco's "music-on-hold.au" file cloned and renamed multiple times that wasy I was using something that I knew for sure would work.

2.  I had to reboot/turn the router on off to get most of the new tcls to take affect.  I am new to tcl's, but it seems like horrible behavior for something that runs a phone system (CME router) to have to be reboot for a simple file change...so is that normal, or a bug perhaps in the IOS or corruption, or something else I am missing?

3.  "Music-on-hold" wasn't the plan, so I swapped the sound files out with various sound files that were opened and saved as G.711 u-Law files using Sony Sound Forge 11, and most worked.  For the few that didn't, I recopied the files, and reloaded, and then they worked.