Views
Helpful
Replies

Upgrading CUCM from 7.X to 9

mahmoodmkl
Level 7
Level 7

Hi All,

Please bare with me as i am new to IPT and trying to learn things.

I am planning to upgrade my UC infrastructure from 7.X to 9 and i m not sure what all the things needed to be considered before moving forward.

Could you please guide me or provide me with any links which might point me in the right direction.

Thanks           

11 Replies 11

Aman Soi
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi Mahmood,

You need to consider the following:

a. software compatbility matrix from call manager

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/cucm/compat/ccmcompmatr1.pdf

b. Hardware support

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/voicesw/ps6790/ps5748/ps378/prod_brochure0900aecd8062a4f9.html

c. You need to have valid UCSS and ESW contract for doing major upgradation.

d. Also, upload unused DLUs to call manager 7 before u upgrade to 9.

https://supportforums.cisco.com/docs/DOC-27483

regds,

aman

Hi Aman,

Thanks for the reply.

From the above i can figure out that if we plan to move ahead with version 9 we need to go with UCS,am i correct in thinking this..?.

Can you please guide me what to look exactly from the software compatibility matrix do u mean whether particular version is compatibale with HW or not etc.

I am very confused about the licensing in Cisco regarding UC,currently we have a CUWL and please could you explain me how this lincenses will be transferred to version 9.

Thanks

From the above i can figure out that if we plan to move ahead with version 9 we need to go with UCS,am i correct in thinking this..?.

There are MCS servers that support 9x. The HW compatibility guide that Aman posted identifies supported platforms.

Can you please guide me what to look exactly from the software compatibility matrix do u mean whether particular version is compatibale with HW or not etc.