Views
Helpful
Replies

Windows Jabber can't call specific numbers

slanouette
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am fairly new with Jabber software and all of it configurations, I am also not very knowledgeable about the whole VoIP setup and it is very overwhelming, there is so much information about this stuff, and it is complex.

Now, within out company we use cisco IP Phone 7942G and all computers have Jabber client install on Windows 7 enterprise.

For some reason which I have no clue why, some cellphone number will NOT dial out the windows jabber software, but will work by using the Cisco 7942 phone. When the phone will not connect and nothing is heard. Then after X amount of the time is click and closes the call.

Some of the staff have also reported that random number for teleconference will not work, not all of them some will work some will not, all you get is a hang-up tone, as soon as it connect to it. BUT on the Cisco 7942 G they work fine.

Aren’t they all going through the same software to connect calls!?

I will continue to check the forum and such, but any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

9 Replies 9

Dennis Mink
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Shawn,

when you say jabber software, do you mean you are making a call from jabber, using the softphone (CSF device) or do you punch in the mobile number and have it dial via your desk phone?  (CTI control).   what about dialing say internal numbers from Jabber?

also can you dial anything from Jabber that is external?  Standard, International, Local?

=============================
Please remember to rate useful posts, by clicking on the stars below. 

=============================

Please remember to rate useful posts, by clicking on the stars below.

Hello Mink,

The users are making call from their laptop, using the Jabber software, which is tied to their extension in the CUCM, and most of them have a physical desk phone, which is also connected to their extension.