Views
Helpful
Replies

1 GIG Tranceiver for distance 35 KM

Ibrahim Jamil
Level 6
Level 6

Hi netpro

I want to connect to 2 sites together apart 35KM using 1 GIG Speed , the question is that Transceiver should i use for the speed and distance mentioned

Thanks

22 Replies 22

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

GLC-ZX-SM

Hi Lealaohoo

Thanks for reply

Pls can y post me all transceivers with different bandwidth speed and distance either SM or MM

Also can this Tranceiver support the Procade san switch ?

Does GLC-ZX-SMnsupported on the Brocade SAN Switches?coz i need to  connect both Bocade SAN in DC-1 and DC-2 using Dark fiber apart 35 KM

Does GLC-ZX-SMnsupported on the Brocade SAN Switches?

I'm not sure.  I'm no Brocade expert.

What appliance do you intend to use the SFP in?

Hi leolaoho

i will be using the GLC-ZX-SM , on the 6500 Based VSS

when we configure VSS so no need for GLBP OR HSRP because both acts as one logical virtual switch .am i right?

Thanks

ibrahim

Errrr ... You CANNOT use 1Gbps for VSS.  I mean you may need a 1 Gbps link for heartbeat but for VSS you need 10 Gbps.

VSS is not supported on the X6704-10GE line card.

Cisco Catalyst 6500 Virtual Switching System Deployment Best Practices

Cisco 10GBASE XENPAK Modules

Cisco 10GBASE X2 Modules

Hi Leolaohoo

i have question ,what happen if one switch in a  cluster VSS goes down,who will be affected?

the servers will be connected to both 6500 bsed VSS in teaming mode is it possible to be Active/Active link from each server to both VSS switches ?

i have question ,what happen if one switch in a  cluster VSS goes down,who will be affected?

You have two chassis in a VSS, A & B.  If chassis A goes down, say, because of supervisor failure then whatever clients are connected to A goes down too.

the servers will be connected to both 6500 bsed VSS in teaming mode is it possible to be Active/Active link from each server to both VSS switches ?