Views
Helpful
Replies

2950 - Power cycle issue

Jeff Harned
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I am new to networking but have been working with a small LAN setup with success.

This is my issue:

I am using one 2950 switch along with data converison devices converting incoming serial data to multicast data back to serial data.
For the switch configuration I have chosen to use MVR (Multicast VLAN Registration) assigning ports in a VLAN (Virtual LAN) configuration.

I save the configuration steps using the "copy running-config startup-congfig" command.  So far everthing is working great!

However, when I do a power cycle on the switch the ports become inactive (although the port status LEDs are green).  I know no multicast data is getting through to the devices because there are no data activity LEDs lit up on them.

Performing a "show running-config' on the switch shows that the configuration entries are intact.  To get the LAN setup to work again I have to retype the configuration steps again into the switch.  Can someone help me with this issue?

Thanks.

Regards,

Jeff

Cisco 2950 Switch
IOS Version 12.1(22)EA9
Running Standard Image

24 FastEthernet Ports

37 Replies 37

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi Jeff,

Can you post the output of "sh ver" from the switch?

Hi Reza,

I will give it a try.

Thanks.

Regards,

Jeff

glen.grant
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

I would think it is something in your config , if you have ports assigned to a given vlan but that vlan is not created in the vlan database the ports will go into an inactive state .  Not sure what it could be though. Check your vtp status and see if it's in transparent mode and if not change it .

Hi Glen,

I already have set in the begiining of the configuration to the transparent mode as you have stated.  After reading your reply I went ahead and did a power cycle on the switch. Checking the "show vlan" indicates that the vlans are still active!

Is this the same as the vlan database you mentioned??