Cisco Support Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

New Member

About 2960 switch different passwords.

Suppose you have a 2960 switch.

I have understood, but I am not so sure, these concepts:

1. In order to get "enable mode", there is only a password, the same password from console, telnet or SSH.

2. In order to login, there is, if you want, a different password from console, telnet or SSH.

3. If I use SSH, I can set different pairs username - password, in order to login too.

Is it true? Is it possible there are not different enable passwords?


Cisco Employee

Re: About 2960 switch different passwords.


If you are using username/passwords for login and if you set different

privilege levels for each user, you can set different enable passwords

associated with those privilege levels.

enable password level

Hope this helps.



New Member

Re: About 2960 switch different passwords.

So, without different privilege levels, a concept that I do not know yet, I can

distinguish only the login passwords from console, telnet or SSH.

Thanks for the answer.

Cisco Employee

Re: About 2960 switch different passwords.


You can set up several users with different privilege level.

1. create users with password and proper priv level

username admin priv 15 password cisco

username bob priv 1 password cisco

2. Enable local login under line

line vty 0 4

login local  --> this will make telnet user to authenticate through local user database

line con 0

login local 

3. User who telnet to router will have to type user name admin and password cisco to log on as admin and get priv level 15

More detail on priv level.

  • privilege level 0 — Includes the disable, enable, exit, help, and logout commands.

  • privilege level 1 — Normal level on Telnet; includes all user-level commands at the router> prompt.

  • privilege level 15 — Includes all enable-level commands at the router# prompt.