Replies

Advantages of 2960x over 2960s

ripnik101
Level 1
Level 1

Hii Guyz,

This is my first time in this forum.

I had a Question.

I just wanted to know 'what is the maximum traffic  handling capacity per port of the newer 2960x series switch.

The thing is that we have around 50-60 2960s switches in our organisation.

We had a requirement of two new swithces , so i suggested my senior to go with the newer 2960x series switches.

Now he wants me to find out the key differences between both the switches.

and the traffic handling capacity of the ports.

And also if they can stack with the existing S series(The answer might be yes)

So please help me out Guyz.

This is my first week in this organization , and my senior is probably testing me.

3 Replies 3

ageralde
Level 1
Level 1

Hi ripnik101,

i see that you are interested at the Catalyst 2960X and your organization currently has the 2960's in place. There are a lot of advantages of the newer X model especially the speed on the LAN Base. Feel free to email me directly so we can discuss this further in details. 

Thanks,

Angela (ageralde@cisco.com)

acirrici
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Ripnik101,

Refer to this FAQ regarding the 2960-S, 2960-X, and the 2960-XR. This resource seems like it has all the necessary information to answer your question.

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/switches/catalyst-2960-x-series-switches/qa_c67-728348.html

Thanks,

Alex (acirrici@cisco.com)

bridahlq
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee