Views
Helpful
Replies

Allowing multiple Vlans on 1 Port

elmehdisaoudi
Level 1
Level 1

hey guys, so im no expert and i would really appreciate any help 

so i need to assign each port on switch 3 (the one connected to the pcs) with multiple vlans 
so instead of making them access ports i made them trunking ports and i allowed the vlans i need but i can't get a connection between the pcs, the ping is unsuccessful 

and also i need to provide these pcs with internet access from the router how can i do that ?

ccc.png

i really hope that i'd get any answers and i really appreciate your help thank you.

5 Replies 5

Rich Uline
Level 1
Level 1

Elmehdisaoudi,

Most workstations will not tag traffic sent to the switch, and the default behavior for the switch is to place untagged traffic which it receives into the native VLAN. If you want the workstations to communicate on several subnets at once, then you will need to configure them for VLAN tagging. This feature may or may not be available depending on the operating system and/or NIC hardware capability/drivers.

Looking at the bigger picture, a design that requires workstations to communicate on multiple VLANs isn't really a great one. I think it might be more productive if we removed the need for that entirely. So I'd like to ask; why is it that each port on switch 3 needs multiple VLANs?

To answer your question about enabling Internet access from the router, we may need more information. It looks to me like none of the switches are capable of routing, so you would probably use a router-on-a-stick configuration. Once that is set up, you would just need to propagate those VLANs along your trunks. It looks like you may also need to configure NAT (PAT, specifically).

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi,