Views
Helpful
Replies

Automatically control downlinks according to uplink's state

TaoLeiCCIE_2
Level 1
Level 1

Hello.

A switch has one uplink and several downlinks.

Is there any mechanism to accomplish this demand:

When uplink gets down, all downlinks get down automatically.

When uplink recovers then all downlinks recover, too.

Thanks.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

hobbe
Level 7
Level 7

Hi

There are some things you can do.

First of all if the switch supports EEM then you can use that to setup a script on what will happen when a link goes down aswell as when it goes up.

There are several EEM scripts that will help you with that already or is easily modified to do just that.

This i have done in the past, works very nice.

If you need help with this just let us know.

IP-SLA should be able to do thesame but i have no personal experience with it.

Depending on how you do things in your network you can get systems to react on different things like Logging or SNMP

You can setup logging/traps so that the logging/snmp server (if it is not over the shutdown link ofcourse) will login to the switch and shutdown apropriate interfaces.

Just some examples on how to do it, there are most likely more.

Good luck

HTH

View solution in original post

Firstly Flex Links are "not" a replacement for Spanningtree - they are an "alternative" to spanningtree for people that do not want to run spanningtree

Secondly Flex Links do not provide loop avoidance

Thirdly you have quite a few limitations when using flex links - like they can only be in 1 pair, they cannot be in an etherchannel, port security could trigger false positives and close a good link down......

So the real question is - if the Flex Link technology was not created, what would the solution be.....spanningtree.

To your question "If you have read my desciption of our scene carefully and have seen the topology carefully, do you explain how STP achieves our goal, please"  Very Simple