cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Bandwidth monitoring, throughput and broadcast storm question

JonDeFiore
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all- This is my virgin post on the site and I am fairly new in their field, so please be kind and patient.

Here is what I am currently working on; any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

(1) Catalyst 2960 48-port switch and (1) SGE 2010P 48-port switch

Base internet speed: T1 (1.544Mbps)

While I am aware of the fact that the T1 is in desparate need of an upgrade, that matter is out of my hands.

What I am looking at are ways to manage the bandwidth more efficiently.

2960 switch-28 of the ports are in-use

2010p switch-42 ports are in-use

-One of the simplest things I thought of trying was to set a threshold on the broadcast, unicast and multicast traffic.

I am a little uncertain though as to the ways in which I can monitor that traffic (cannot use third-party software or netflow; strictly via command line)

-I did a "show processes cpu" on the 2960 the output was as-follows:

Switch>sh processes cpu

CPU utilization for five seconds: 12%/1%; one minute: 12%; five minutes: 12%

PID Runtime(ms)   Invoked     uSecs   5Sec   1Min   5Min TTY Process

Additionally, I checked and STP is functional on all company switches and storm control is disabled on all.

How should I proceed? And, is this juice even worth the proverbial squeeze? Like I said, the T1 will be upgraded soon, but right now I am only looking at things that I have control over.

Thanks,

8 Replies 8

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer