Views
Helpful
Replies

Bgp configuration problem

jvicovac88
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am new to bgp and have trouble configuring it in my project. My network has four different regions (1 through 4) and it connects to four different ISPs (AS 100, 200, 300 and 400). Regions 1, 2 and 4 have five routers each while Region 3 has six. Every router has a LAN connected to it. LANs in regions 1 and 3 hold servers that give basic service to the whole network whilst other LANs hold servers that give service to local working stations. AS number for my network is 10 and I can use /23 address block from PI addresses. The rest of users have private ip addresses (RFC 1918). I should recieve full bgp tables from AS 100, 200 and 300. As for AS 400, I should recieve only routes from that AS. My network should be a transit network only for AS 400. All ISPs should be equaly used to access the internet. From region 1, two different routers connect to AS 100 and 200, respectively. One router from region 2 is connected to AS 300 and one from region 4 to AS 400.

Now, Ive read manuals and saw the basic examples and still have some trouble... I've defined all interface and LAN addresses, configured OSPF - divided the network into 3 areas (area 0 - region1, area 1 - regions 3 and 4, area 2 - region 2) and got to bgp configuration.

What would be the best way to configure it? Should I use a default route and how? Or, redistribute partial routing tables into ospf (and how)?

Those basic examples mostly have 3, 4 routers and I have 21 here... Don't really know where to start.

Thanks in advance.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello Jovan,

As you surely understand, I would be doing harm to you if I told you how to solve this assignment completely. I will therefore outline the basic thought process that I would personally go through but you will have to fill in the gaps yourself. You are however invited and welcome to ask and discuss about anything you feel necessary.