cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP MultiHome

saroj pradhan
Level 1
Level 1

I want to use BGP Routing in my network .Also  i have  two WAN Link from two Different ISP's  need to treminate on  two different Router.

will  use  one link as active  and the other one  as passive  for  Internet access and  when the primary link goes down  traffic to the backup link.

please advice  the command for configuration  as i am new to BGP.

Thanks,

Saroj

6 Replies 6

Aileron88
Level 1
Level 1

There are many different ways to achieve the same result in BGP, but to implement each requires a detailed in depth knowledge of the internal workings of BGP. Is this a real network or is this a test setup? There are a LOT of things that this configuration will depend on.

Thanks,

Adam

This is  Real  network Setup.

please advice  me the command  for Mulihome configuration part.

Regards,

Saroj

Saroj

As stated before, there are many different ways to do this.

A) On your back up router, prepend your AS about 4-5 times to make that link look like it's farther away. Even when you do this, you may get some traffice coming in over that link.

B) Set your local preference for your outgoing traffic to prefer the active router over the standby. 

Read more here:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk365/technologies_tech_note09186a0080094431.shtml

2. If the factors fit your business, I would recommend making both of them being active with the following settings.

- Both routers learn that service providers routers, and their customers routes

- On the router you want the most traffic to go over, learn a default route from that provider.

- On the router you want the least traffic to go over, prepend your AS 1 or 2 times.