Views
Helpful
Replies

Bundle 6509E

R.Siripan
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I’m a newbie to 6509 and planning to get this bundle model WS-6509-EXL-FWM-K9,   the link is from this site:- https://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/modules/ps2706/ps4452/prod_bulletin0900aecd80630aa1_ps2706_Products_Bulletin.html

Here my questions are:-

- What ISO version will be? and do I require extra cost for if upgrade? or separate Cisco IOS license is require?

- Do I require Firewall services module software and license for the virtual firewall?

- What is FWSM Software version?

Should I looking to another model instead of this 6509E?

Thanks

8 Replies 8

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello R.Siripan,

the bundle includes the FWSM blade and a sup 720 3BXL.

>> What ISO version will be? and do I require extra cost for if upgrade? or separate Cisco IOS license is require?

the switch will be shipped with an IOS image, you will be able to upgrade for free until you stay in the same feature set (=type of image).

>> Do I require Firewall services module software and license for the virtual firewall?

the document clearly states that a separate license for the FWSM is needed. FWSM can have different types of licenses, single or multiple contexts.

The number of contexts and the number of logical interfaces can vary on the different types of licences.

if you deploy a failover pair the license is tied to the primary FWSM.

Firewall blade for Cisco Catalyst 6500 and 7600 Series; VFW license is separate in table3

>> What is FWSM Software version?

the FWSM has his own software that is a sort of specialized unix FWSM versions range from 2.x, 3.x to 4.x

the C6509E is a good chassis for this job, the type of FAN module depends from linecards you install (for example 10GE linecards may require a different more powerful FAN module)

Hope  to help

Giuseppe

Hi Giuslar

Thanks for the info,