cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

C2960-S SFP Module not active

rdrwalton
Level 1
Level 1

I have set up Cisco switches previously via the hyperterminal and been able to get them configured and operating, but I have limited knowledge of the tools and processes. 

I have a 2960-S with 48 ports and 4 SFP modules.

I have good feedback on the 48 ports, but I can not get the SFP modules to ether be recognized or show any activity on the 2960-S. The unmanaged switch I have the fiber connected too, is indicating a network connection and activity, but the 2960-S is not indicating any connection on the SFP modules.

I have added the switch configuration file.

12 Replies 12

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Post the photo of the SFP.  

Post the output to the command "sh version".  

Leo,

Here is the Version file for your reference.

Thank you

David

Leo,

Here is the SFP Module picture.

David

pdub206
Level 1
Level 1

When dealing with add on SFP's, you can type "show inventory" to see if they are recognized by the system at all.  It will also show the model and serial number, as well as linecards, power supplies, etc.

I've run into some issues with 3rd party SFP's before, and they typically won't come up if they are not recognized as a Cisco branded version.  If you issue a "show interface" on the interface you are having problems with, and the status is errdisabled, it may be because you have used an SFP that isn't recognized.

There is a hidden command you can use, "service unsupported-transceiver" which, in conjunction with "no errdisable detect cause gbic-invalid" and "errdisable recovery cause gbic-invalid", allows you to use the SFP.  I will note that you should use Cisco branded SFP's whenever possible, as off branded ones are most of the time less reliable and don't enable the full options that Cisco branded ones would.

Throwing packets since 2012

Mr. Walton,