Views
Helpful
Replies

Catalyst 3560 routing for network boot

bighostlv
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys,

I'm a Cisco noob so please forgive me if I'm asking stupid questions :)

I have a Cisco Catalyst 3560 in my lab and it's currently a single VLAN set up with all 48 interfaces in it. The switch receives static IPs from the router and as far as I understand is not doing any routing by itself. I'd like to run my own tftp server available only to the servers on this switch (for network boot).

So what I probably need this switch to run is some kind of an internal network i.e. 10.10.2.0 so I'd be able to reach the servers on this switch both via an external IP xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx and an internal one say 10.10.2.3 during the PXE boot.

So how should it be done and is it possible at all?

I hope I'm making myself clear and you got the idea. Please ask if you don't. :)

BR,

Paul

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

pankaj kumar
Level 1
Level 1

What i understood is that you are running some servers on the switch and these servers are accessed by some external users

and you want that external user should only be able to use these server but no the TFTP server that you are running, this TFTP server should only be accessible by the servers on the switch.

If that what you are asking then you can use port ACL on the switch port where the TFTP server is running.These port ACL can be applied on the switch layer two interface and applied on in inbound direction.

View solution in original post

Hi bighhostlv,

If you use port ACL it will work only for the particular interface but if you user VLAN ACL then only it will apply for all port in that VLAN .

Rate helpful posts

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

pankaj kumar
Level 1
Level 1

What i understood is that you are running some servers on the switch and these servers are accessed by some external users