cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Catalyst 3560G's

mark.lewis
Level 1
Level 1

I am relatively new to the whole Cisco world of networking (not so new to networking). We have recently moved over from a 3 Com solution to almost a full pure Cisco based network (ADSL router is netgear).

Currently our network is setup as

Netgear ADSL Router

Pix 515E

Catalyst 3560G-48PS x 1

Catalyst 3560G-48TS x 2

I have configured the pix and catalysts from scratch and got them working (big improvement over what we had). Very quickly I learnt about configuring the physical ports as our devices couldn't negotiate links quickly enough for DHCP (spanning-tree port-fast) and generally configured the devices all ok. I have set the switches up in a mesh format for now with the Switch Macro to trunk 2 ports between each switch.

Our Catalyst switches are all just sat ticking over sunning themselves not really working hard. I know we can get bigger gains from these devices and have a few questions that hopefully people can assist with. I have tried Google and I am going to be working towards CCNA as soon as the new books come out but I am struggling to get the answers.

1) Are there any performance gains to be had from Clustering the switches? I know about the admin gains in that its one device etc but with only 3 switches admin is not too much of a heart-ache.

2) Jumbo Frames. I know that to get the most bandwidth used by a Gig network Jumbo frames should be enabled otherwise you hit the limit of the standard MTU. In the Cisco documentation it states

Quote:

If Gigabit Ethernet interfaces are configured to accept frames greater than the 10/100 interfaces, jumbo frames ingressing on a Gigabit Ethernet interface and egressing on a 10/100 interface are dropped.