Views
Helpful
Replies

Choosing between 4500 & 6500

branfarm1
Level 4
Level 4

Hi there,

I currently run a pair of 4507R's with SupV's as the core of my datacenter network. All of my servers are dual homed either to the dual 4507's or to HP Blade switches inside HP blade enclosures. I'm trying to decided if I want to upgrade to the -E series 4500 or if I should make the jump to 6500. I know everybody loves the 6500 and would recommend that in a heartbeat, but I need some real reasons why the 6500 would be better. Since i have no experience with 6500's I thought I'd turn here for advice. The important things about my environment are:

--100 servers currently, with plans to expand

--I process a lot of real-time multicast and unicast traffic

--All of the users are connected via the WAN (extranets, direct p2p connections, internet)

-- Low Latency and high availability are the most important design considerations

--Easy of administration

So far, I've been looking at a 6506-E with either a Sup 32 or Sup 2 with SFM and MSFC2. It seems to me that everyone is buying the Sup 32, but when I read the docs it looks like the Sup 2 has better traffic handling capabilities.

Can anyone offer any advice?

Thanks in advance!

6 Replies 6

Edison Ortiz
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Supervisor IIs are no longer available, your options are Sup32, Sup32-PISA, Sup-720 or Sup-720-10G.

For Core datacenter I recommend getting at least a Sup-720 with DFC enabled modules.

The throughput achieved with this hardware configuration dramatically surpasses to what you are getting with a 4507.

For more information on the 6500 architecture, please refer to this white paper:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/switches/ps5718/ps708/prod_white_paper0900aecd80673385.html

HTH,

__

Edison.

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame