Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 881w Router Config

Sherif Mikhail
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am trying to configure the 881w router and I have never used the Cisco cp express before. I am wanting to configure the 881w to replace our SA520w. What is the best way to go about it?

Regards,

Tabaitha

12 Replies 12

Hi,

I have already whent o that site and it does not help. If i change the IP address for my router i get locked out and have to set back to factory. I am wondering is there an easy way to configure it.

Regards,

Tabaitha

"If i change the IP address for my router i get locked out and have to set back to factory."

After you change the address to something else, change your workstation to be on the same network as the new address that you've put on the router. You can then finish the configuration.

So, if you're changing the address on the router to "192.168.1.1", you can change your address on your workstation to something like "192.168.1.50" or something in the same network.

HTH,
John

*** Please rate all useful posts ***

HTH, John *** Please rate all useful posts ***

Hi John,

Thank you for the advice but this i knew. I am trying to configure the cisco 881w with the same configuration as our current one SA520 router.

Regards,

Tabaitha

Tabaitha

Once you change the IP you will be locked out unless -

a) you are on the same subnet as John says

or

b) the router has a route back to the subnet where your PC is.

We can't really help you if you don't provide enough information ie. you want the same configuration as your SA520 but we have no idea of how that is setup, whether you have multiple vlans/subnets in your network, what IP you are trying to give your router and what IP your PC is using etc..

Jon

Hi Jon,

A) Yes i am on the same subnet.

B) I am Trying to set it up with the following:

IP Address :    207.231.79.188

Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.248

Gateway:         207.231.79.185

C) The PC is using on the 520w router public 207.231.79.186