Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco catalyst 2960 booting garbage, help on restore IOS

phgoh1982
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All,

This is my first time on terminal access of Cisco Catalyst 2960 (2960TC-L), normally would use the web configuration for most task.

Now the switch has an issue with the web interface and when I try to access through terminal, I was greeted with garbage upon the booting of the switch, I searched for the terminal boot process and it wasn't what I was expected for my switch. I was a bit dumbfound now of how can I recover the firmware to its default stage, now that I cannot even boot through its terminal console.

Any help is highly appreciated. Thank you for your time.

9 Replies 9

petenixon
Level 3
Level 3

Are you sure that the baud rate is correct for your connection? Please console to the switch using the following parameters and then re-test:

Baud rate: 9600
Flow-control: none

Hi, Thank you very much for your kind reply. 

I'm sure that I'm using the correct baud rate and also set the Flow-control to 'none'.

Please have a look at the image attached, it's how it looks like when it start booting the switch.

Also I did try to flash the IOS but the Putty session still display unreadable characters, makes me wonder if the switch's hardware is already faulty?

Please enlighten me. 

Can you describe the circumstances that lead to this issue? IOS upgrade, power failure etc.. Do the LED's on the switch give any indication?

Just to clarify, the full configuration for your console connection are as follows:

Speed (baud): 9600
Data bits: 8
Stop bits: 1
Parity: None
Flow control: None

Hi,

I just verified with my colleague of whom have done quite a few bits before I took over his task.

His reply was he actually did an IOS flash before, though I'm not sure how he did it, but according to him, it was actually a success and the web interface still works for few times before it become like this.