Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Switch 3500 with Router 2612 Encapsulation Issue

zahid
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Experts:

I am studying my CCNA Exame and got stuck one of my Lab whcih you the only ones I think can help me with ok the Issue is as follow:

Switch A 3500 port fa 0/0 need to connect to Router_A e 0/0 via Straight-Through Cabel where VLAN 1 ip address 192.168.1.2 VLAN 1 (native) Switch ports should be fa 0/1 to 0/4 VLAN 10 fa 0/5 to 0/8 Vlan 20 fa 0/9 to 0/12

Also two hosts A, B should be connected via Switch A ip add 192.168.5.2/24 Default Gateway (GW) 192.168.5.1, Host B ip add 192.168.7.2 GW 192.168.7.1

Now the question is what this the following error produced by Router spouse to mean and how can I configure encapsulation on this router. I have Trunk configure on Switch configure with encapsulation dot1q (802.1Q) and Router is not let me configure the encapsulation on sub-interface its give me clue that this router do support 802.1Q encapsulation but the way is mention in book is not applied on this Router then this Router must have its own way of configuring which I need your help.

Router_A(config)#int ethernet 0/0

Router_A(config-if)#interface e 0/0.1

Router_A(config-subif)#encapsulation dot1q 1

^

% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.

Router_A(config-subif)#ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0

% Configuring IP routing on a LAN subinterface is only allowed if that

subinterface is already configured as part of an IEEE 802.10, IEEE 802.1Q,

or ISL vLAN.

please view full show version and run config configuration on attach word file

Thanks

4 Replies 4

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

zahid

I believe that the problem is that your 2612 router with its Ethernet (not FastEthernet) interface does not support trunking on that interface.