Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cisco System Catalyst 2950

I am a current student at my local Community College taking Computer Networking and I was given an old Cisco Systems Catalyst 2950 switch so I can become more familiar with creating VLANS and other functions and commands for Cisco switchs. The problem that I am have is that I am not able to console into the switch so I can configure the switch and working on commands. The OS that I have on my laptop is Win 8 and I am using putty to try and connect to the switch. I have done some research into this problem, but I was not able to figure out what I am doing wrong. I don't know if the problem is with the OS, console, or putty. If anyone has any ideas or able to help me figure this out. I would appreciate the help. Thank you

5 REPLIES

Hello Corey.

1- Make sure the COMM port shows up in device manager of your computer, make sure it's properly installed and working fine.

2- Try different BAUD rates, speeds, this is a old switch, it could be that someone hardcoded the BAUD rate to 128000, 9600 or any other speed... try to play with that.

Regards.

Wilson B.

Purple

Does your usb to serial adaptor show up in device manager and look ok ?