cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Connecting 2 sites together

eclipse2000
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, Im quite new to all Cisco gear so i just want to check a few things before we proceed with our idea.

We currently have a main network running through a static broadband connecting using a Cisco 1700 ADSL router, everything is working fine locally.

We are looking to rent some space in an office nearby so im going to order another business adsl connection with static IP for this site and i currently have a spare 1800 router.

My question is can the cisco routers connect up like a VPN connection so both sites work together and will the connection remain online constantly so from the remote office we can access all our servers from the main network?

Also how does the IP addressing work on 2 sites. The main network uses 10.120.21.x and DHCP is assigned from a cisco router. Does the remote network assign from the same DHCP server or would the remote sites cisco router need to be setup to give out DHCP to local machines. If so what would be the best IP setup to use.

Im sorry for been so bland but im just after some advice before we proceed.

Many thanks

Paul

9 Replies 9

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Paul

There are many ways to set things up. But in general what you suggest is quite possible. Depending on the feature set of the IOS running on the 1700 and the 1800 they could support a VPN connection between the sites. Depending on how you set up the VPN it would be possible to run a routing protocol through the VPN so that the 2 sites could communicate with each other and the VPN could stay up all the time so that the remote site could access servers at the main site at any time.

My suggestion would be to set up DHCP at the remote site. But it could be feasible to have the remote site get DHCP from the main site. (you would need a separate DHCP scope for each site no matter which way you set it up).