Views
Helpful
Replies

dhcp and routing problem

Algirdasss
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I use Cisco 850 router as DHCP server. When I set IP address in some client PC manually I can't access the router (no response to ping, no response to telnet session, etc.), when address is set via DHCP, router responses. The same behavior is when I try to ping some client from router. Ping packets are sent only when pinging clients with IP addresses assigned by DHCP. If I ping clients with static address no ping packets are sent from router. I am new to Cisco IOS so I can't find what is wrong. I think routers configuration is incomplete. I tried to play with routing but no effect. Please helppp...

6 Replies 6

Algirdasss
Level 1
Level 1

P.S. attached my IOS configuration file

Hi,

First i can se that this is a probem, but after i have looked at your config I have one question to you.

What are yu trying to acomplish ?

You have loopback that is both used at a vpdn and vlan 1 ?

If you tell what you realy whant this router to do there might be a better and simpler config ??

/Soren

Algirdas

The symptoms that you describe are pretty unusual and I believe that we will need some additional information to be able to identify the source of the problem. Can you give us some specifics of how you manually configure the client when there is a problem: in particular I would like to know to what is the client connected, what IP address is assigned, what subnet mask is assigned, and what default gateway is assigned? Is there any possibility that the IP address that you are manually assigning is also assigned to some other PC by DHCP?

I note in the config that you have DHCP excluded addresses in 192.168.6 but I do not see 192.168.6 being used in this config. Can you explain to us what is being used for 192.168.6?

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

rburts

these lines

ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.6.1 192.168.6.9

ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.6.21 192.168.6.254