cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Diff between archive tar and archive download-sw commands?

Tarjeet Singh
Level 1
Level 1

I need to update switch with .tar file. I have never done this before. I have found two commands. But I am confused which one I can execute.

Examples:

archive tar /xtract tftp://10.10.10.3/c2950-i6q4l2-tar.121-22.EA1.tar flash:

OR

archive download-sw /overwrite tftp://20.20.20.2/c3550-i5q3l2-tar.121-13.EA1.tar

Please advise. I just want to upgrade standalone switch with .tar file. Should I use archive tar or archive download-sw

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

I am a still waiting for answer. please help if possible

You created the thread at 11:53 and you want an answer in 10 seconds (for example)?  Patience. 

Difference between "archive tar /x" and "archive download-sw"?

"archive tar /x" command only un-packs the IOS.  That's all it does.

"archive download-sw" unpacks the IOS and you can run optional commands to remove the old IOS (as an example), change the boot string, forcefully reboot the appliance after the un-packing completes, or run an MD5 hash verify of the BIN file when the un-packing starts, remove the OLD IOS, etc.

It's your choice.

Some Catalyst switch "don't like" the "archive download-sw" and, in some cases, give an impression that the IOS upgrade is complete even though the un-packing is still happening in the background. 

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Tarjeet Singh
Level 1
Level 1

You created the thread at 11:53 and you want an answer in 10 seconds (for example)?  Patience. 

Difference between "archive tar /x" and "archive download-sw"?

"archive tar /x" command only un-packs the IOS.  That's all it does.