Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

Do I need the IOS updgrade?

Hi all,

I am a newb at this and was hoping someone could help lift the shroud.  I have a WS-C4507R-E switch.  The current SW Ver. on it is 12.2(53)SG4-IP-BASE-CRYPTO.  I have been tasked with making sure all of our switches and routers have the most current IOS running on them. 

So, with that, when I look at the software available for download for my particular switch, there are several.  Some of the IOS description makes sense, but not even sure really if I do understand what I am looking at.  How do I know which software package I need to use to upgrade the switch?  I am not the willy nilly kind of person that is going pick a package and throw it on.  I would rather know what I am doing is right.  That and this is our core switch..while yes, I would certainly back up the current switch, I would hate to be responsible for taking down the entire network due to a unfortunate misunderstanding of what I thought I read, even is it only last as long as it takes to restore from the back up... 

Thanks in advance for any help.  I certainly do appreciate it.

Tracy

Everyone's tags (3)
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super Bronze

Disclaimer

The   Author of this posting offers the information contained within this   posting without consideration and with the reader's understanding that   there's no implied or expressed suitability or fitness for any purpose.   Information provided is for informational purposes only and should not   be construed as rendering professional advice of any kind. Usage of  this  posting's information is solely at reader's own risk.

Liability Disclaimer