Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

dot1q tunneling questions

Hello,

I'm new to dot1q-tunneling so these are my questions:

- Cisco Catalyst 2960 supports "switchport mode dot1q-tunnel" ? I think that 3750 yes... but I'm also not sure. The support of "dot1q-tunnel" is related to IOS version or to platform??

- If a switch doesn't support dot1q-tunnel, will it be able to forward Q-in-Q traffic? I think so, it would have provideer-VLANs configured and it won't realize that it's Q-in-Q traffic but it couldn't have tunnel ports for ingress and egress customer traffic. Am I right??

Thanks,

Christian

Everyone's tags (2)
5 REPLIES
Hall of Fame Super Gold

2940/2950/2955, 2960 support only 802.1Q.  3560, 3750 support 802.1Q and ISL.

Thank you but my question was about Q-in-Q also know in Cisco as dot1Q tunnel... Anybody can answer me?

hi christian,

- Cisco Catalyst 2960 supports "switchport mode dot1q-tunnel" ? I think that 3750 yes... but I'm also not sure. The support of "dot1q-tunnel" is related to IOS version or to platform??  

As far as I have seen this  is supported almost on all switching platforms.What you can do is to  read the release notes of the IOS and also the platform you have or check it on the cisco  feature navigator tool.

- If a switch doesn't support dot1q-tunnel, will it be able to forward Q-in-Q traffic? I think so, it would have provideer-VLANs configured and it won't realize that it's Q-in-Q traffic but it couldn't have tunnel ports for ingress and egress customer traffic. Am I right??