cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Ensure HA for servers on stacked Cisco 3750g Switches?

mezzanine237
Level 1
Level 1

Please bear with me. I'm fairly new to the sys admin world. Though I have a grasp on Cisco Switch technology, the grasp is certainly not solid. I've been tasked by my IT director with finding a device-level redundancy plan for our critical systems. We have four stacked 3750g switches. How would I setup the technology so if the switch with the servers connected were to fail, the downtime would be minimized? Should I deploy a RPS2300? What about the supervisor engine? From what I understand, the supervisor engine is virtual when using stacked 3750s. Is server NIC teaming neceassary? Does the LACP protocol need to be considered? As you can see, I've got a lot of catching up to do. Ultimately, I need guidance so I'm not this plan in the wrong direction by confusing appropriate technologies.

Thanks in advance.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer

The  Author of this posting offers the information contained within this  posting without consideration and with the reader's understanding that  there's no implied or expressed suitability or fitness for any purpose.  Information provided is for informational purposes only and should not  be construed as rendering professional advice of any kind. Usage of this  posting's information is solely at reader's own risk.

Liability Disclaimer

In  no event shall Author be liable for any damages whatsoever (including,  without limitation, damages for loss of use, data or profit) arising out  of the use or inability to use the posting's information even if Author  has been advised of the possibility of such damage.

Posting

You've already correctly identified some methods for HA with 3750s.