cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

FastEthernet drops, GigabitEthernet stays up

iskocic
Level 1
Level 1

Disclaimer: I am a sysadmin and do not have extensive knowledge of switching and routing - just enough for what I do - so please be easy on me  :-)

We have six 3560G switches (WS-C3560G-48TS) on our LAN, all devices on one VLAN.  For the past few months, every week or so, all our 100BASE-T devices lose connection for about a minute, then come back.  At the same time, all gigabit devices stay up, uninterrupted.  This is so puzzling to me that I don't even know where to start troubleshooting.  The devices that lose connection are all connected to different switches and they do not seem to have anything in common, other than 100 Mbit ports. I have checked the logs on the switches and other devices (where i could) and could not find anything.

Does anyone have any suggestionson what to check or look for?

Any suggestion is welcome. Thanks in advance!

Igor

4 Replies 4

NickNac79
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Igor,

That's mighty wierd!

The first thing I would do is set up a syslog server, and have all your 3560s sending their logs to that - hopefully you'll catch something happening that will explain the situation.

Obviously you need to have your syslog server on a gigabit connection! :-)

Nick

Thanks for the suggestion, Nick.  I checked the logging buffer on all the switches and luckily it was large enough to hold the entried from the time of the incident but could not find anything. I did set up the syslog server anyways so it'll be easier to analyze when it happens the next time.

danrya
Level 1
Level 1

When you say "lose connection" do you mean the "link goes down" or that they just can't communicate with other devices?