Views
Helpful
Replies

Few questions about 3750X stack switch

linhdhd
Level 1
Level 1

Dear,

I have just joined this helpful community. Since I am still a newbie, it is my hope to comprehend through our discussions. I would like to ask few questions about 3750X stack switch:

1. What kind of switches are considered as provisioned switch?
  2. What is the purpose of using provision switch?
  3. Which advantages does a provision switch provide? If we don't use provision feature, what would be happened?

Thank you very much. Look forward to reading your replies.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

1, This is correct. The switch that you want configured as Master, is where you put the "stacking" commands.

So for instance if you have two other switches you can do the following.

'switch 2 provision --> You can also do 'switch 2 provision ?' as well to help you out

'switch 3 provision --> Same as above

Then if you want to configure port 5 on swtich 2 to vlan 5 for instance you can do the following'.

'int 2/0/5' and enter in your Interface Configuration commands so when you get ready to plug everything into the various switch ports everything is configured already.

I recommend doing the following as well for stacking. Lets say you have a 3 switch stack.

Master - 'switch 1 priority 15'

Slave2 - 'switch 2 priority 14'

Slave 3 - 'switch 3 priority 13'

etc

Hope this helps

View solution in original post

"Am I able to type "interface gig 3/0/x" in global configuration mode before connecting the 3rd switch into the existing stack?"

This can be done AS LONG AS you've pre-provisioned the switch.  I must've done this sooooo many times:  Configure the ports of a switch that's not yet attached to the stack.

It saves a lot of time.

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

Ivan Shirshin
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello,