Views
Helpful
Replies

How can I get 2 VLAN's to communicate with each other

whiteford
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm just setting up a lab, I have 2 VLAN's on a Cisco 2950, one for servers and one for users. Both VLANS are on different subnets:

Users: 192.168.1.x/24

Servers: 192.168.2.x/24

Would I have to make the VLAN's layer 3 and give each VLAN an IP and add some sort of static route?

Thanks

28 Replies 28

Yes , one port on the router set up with subinterfaces for each subnet and the the 2950 side port set up to trunk with the trunk forced on "switchport mode trunk" . This will route all vlans between each other.

What a great idea, I'm studying for my CCNA and someone told me youdon't need to learn scenarios like this but I think it helps. Am I gettign ahead of myself, trunking is part of the CCNA I beleive?

Trunking is part of everyday life in networking and absolutely something you should know like the back of your hand . :-)

So the 2950 and the 1721 or 2620 will need to support dot1q trunking? How can I find this out as I will need to upload the correct IOS.

its easy enough to find out - try to configure a subinterface as per one of the posts in this thread. If it accepts commands - it is supported. If not - go on cisco.com and look for the minimum version for your hardware with required support.

Here are my configs, I have the routers FE 0/0 port plugged into the switches FE 0/1 port.

A laptop in the switches FE 0/9 VLAN 10 - 192.168.2.50/24 gateway of 192.168.2.1

A laptop in the Switches FE 0/17 VLAN 20 - 192.168.3.50/24 gateway 192.168.3.1

They can't ping each other or their own gateways, have I missed something?

Switch#sh interfaces fastEthernet 0/1 switchport

Name: Fa0/1

Switchport: Enabled

Administrative Mode: trunk

Operational Mode: trunk

Administrative Trunking Encapsulation: dot1q

Operational Trunking Encapsulation: dot1q

Negotiation of Trunking: On

Access Mode VLAN: 1 (default)

Trunking Native Mode VLAN: 1 (default)