cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

HSRP and Tracking

boondocker
Level 1
Level 1

I understand that the track command is a compliment to HSRP in that it allows monitoring of a given interface to provide failover to a standby router. Isn't this what HSRP does, how is tracking differentiated from HSRP functionality....I've tried finding this answer on the web but as a novice I'm not finding any concrete differences.Can anyone provide me with a simple and definitive answer? Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

I am glad that my explanation helps you understand it better.

We do not have enough information about your particular situation to give you good advice about which interfaces should have the tracking. In my experience you generally want to use tracking in an HSRP interface when there is some other interface that impacts the efficiency of forwarding traffic. So for example you may have an interface serving a group of hosts and you run HSRP on that interface. If there is another interface which is the one that user traffic gets forwarded out, then it may make sense to track that other interface.

So - making some assumptions about your example - if Gig1/0/10 is where a group of users are connected (which would be a bit odd since it is a routed port and not part of a VLAN) and if Gig1/0/11 connects to the firewall where the user traffic gets forwarded, then it would make good sense to track Gig1/0/11 in the Gig1/0/10 interface. (if the connection to the firewall goes down then it is less efficient to have user traffic arrive on Gig1/0/10 since it can not forward directly to Gig1/0/11).

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

lgijssel
Level 9
Level 9

To provide a short answer: check the link below:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk648/tk362/technologies_tech_note09186a0080094e8c.shtml

regards,

Leo

Amit Singh
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

There are two types tracking available with HSRP.