cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

IBM blade centre switches

carl_townshend
Spotlight
Spotlight

Hi all, Im new to ibm blades, I have seen in the back of some of our blades that we have 2 small switches in the back, both with 6 ports on them, my question is , how does the blade centre use these 2 switches and why are there 2 in it ?

7 Replies 7

branfarm1
Level 4
Level 4

I have an HP bladeSystem with Cisco switches in it and I assume they are fairly similar. Each of your blades will map to an internal port on the switches, 2 per host. The switches will have external ports that you can use for uplinks or to hook in other devices like you would a "normal" switch. So, for example, my HP BLadeEnclosure has 16 slots and my Cisco Bladesystem switch has 24 ports. 16 of those ports are for the blades, 2 ports are used internally for connections between the switches, and the remaining are used for uplinks or external connections. (There are actually 8 ports externally, but you can dedicate two to be used for the internal switch-switch connections -- not sure if it's the same on the IBM version.)

The reason you have two switches is for redundancy purposes. Each blade will map 1 port to each switch, so two NIC's per blade. Think of it just like if you had a server connected via CAT5 to two physical switches.

The great thing about the Bladeswitches is that you have all the functionality of a normal layer 2 switch in a small form-factor -- you can use all the advanced L2 features within the blade enclosure that you have available on other Cisco Catalyst switches.

Hope that helps!

glen.grant
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni