Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

New Member

Interface leaving a portchannel

Hello,

I have a portchannel with two interfaces and one of them has all of a sudden left the portchannnel... Not sure why so any help would be appreciated...

Here is a "sh log" on each...

4507:

000284: Jul 29 12:59:21: %EC-5-UNBUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet3/37 left the port-channel Port-channel2

000285: Jul 29 13:00:11: %EC-5-BUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet3/37 joined port-channel Port-channel2

000286: Jul 29 13:00:12: %EC-5-UNBUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet3/37 left the port-channel Port-channel2

000287: Jul 30 00:33:58: %EC-5-BUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet3/37 joined port-channel Port-channel2

000288: Jul 30 00:34:12: %EC-5-UNBUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet3/37 left the port-channel Port-channel2

000289: Jul 30 00:34:20: %EC-5-BUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet3/37 joined port-channel Port-channel2

000290: Jul 30 00:34:42: %EC-5-UNBUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet3/37 left the port-channel Port-channel2

000291: Jul 30 03:34:08: %EC-5-BUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet3/37 joined port-channel Port-channel2

000292: Jul 30 03:34:09: %EC-5-UNBUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet3/37 left the port-channel Port-channel2

000293: Jul 30 03:42:29: %EC-5-BUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet3/37 joined port-channel Port-channel2

000294: Jul 30 03:42:41: %EC-5-UNBUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet3/37 left the port-channel Port-channel2

000295: Jul 30 03:48:14: %EC-5-BUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet3/37 joined port-channel Port-channel2

000296: Jul 30 03:53:59: %EC-5-UNBUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet3/37 left the port-channel Port-channel2

4948:

19:58:43: %EC-5-UNBUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet1/1 left the port-channel Port-channel1

19:59:33: %EC-5-BUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet1/1 joined port-channel Port-channel1

19:59:34: %EC-5-UNBUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet1/1 left the port-channel Port-channel1

1d02h: %SYS-5-CONFIG_I: Configured from console by vty0 (192.168.65.26)

1d02h: %SYS-5-CONFIG_I: Configured from console by vty0 (192.168.65.26)

1d07h: %EC-5-BUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet1/1 joined port-channel Port-channel1

1d07h: %EC-5-UNBUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet1/1 left the port-channel Port-channel1

1d07h: %EC-5-BUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet1/1 joined port-channel Port-channel1

1d07h: %EC-5-UNBUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet1/1 left the port-channel Port-channel1

1d10h: %EC-5-BUNDLE: Interface GigabitEthernet1/1 joined port-channel Port-channel1

Here is a "sh int gix/x status" on each...

4507#show int gi3/37 status

Port Name Status Vlan Duplex Speed Type

Gi3/37 Grouped with port3 notconnect 75 auto 1000 10/100/1000-TX

4507#show int gi3/31 status

Port Name Status Vlan Duplex Speed Type

Gi3/31 Grouped with port3 connected trunk full 1000 10/100/1000-TX

4948#sh int gi1/1 status

Port Name Status Vlan Duplex Speed Type

Gi1/1 notconnect 1 auto 1000 10/100/1000-TX

4948#sh int gi1/2 status

Port Name Status Vlan Duplex Speed Type

Gi1/2 connected trunk full 1000 10/100/1000-TX

7 REPLIES
Hall of Fame Super Bronze

Re: Interface leaving a portchannel

This can be a Layer 1 issue, have you inspected the cables are properly seated ?

New Member

Re: Interface leaving a portchannel

Yes the cables are seated correctly...

One thing I have noticed through further investigation is port 1 on the 4948 is now a member of Vlan 1 again??? Not sure why that would just happen on its own...

Silver

Re: Interface leaving a portchannel

Hi,

The notconnect implies physical problem indeed.

Anyway if you configure etherchannel there are some parameters must be identical on both sides (speed, duplex, allowed vlans in case of trunk ports bundled). Has this ever worked before, because it looks one port in trunking and the other in access mode.

Can you post the config of both sides?

Krisztian

New Member

Re: Interface leaving a portchannel

William...can you post the configurations of the ports, it would be easy to suggest.

New Member

Re: Interface leaving a portchannel

Here it is... I even switched from port 1 to port 3 and no dice... To answer the other question, yes it did work...

Both 4507 ports involved:

interface GigabitEthernet3/31

description Grouped with port37 To VMWARE In Lab

switchport access vlan 75

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport mode trunk

speed 1000

duplex full

channel-group 2 mode on

interface GigabitEthernet3/37

description Grouped with port31 To VMWARE In Lab

switchport access vlan 75

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport mode trunk

speed 1000

duplex full

channel-group 2 mode on

Both 4948 ports involved: (remember I switched to port 3 now)

interface GigabitEthernet1/2

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport mode trunk

speed 1000

duplex full

channel-group 1 mode on

interface GigabitEthernet1/3

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport mode trunk

speed 1000

duplex full

channel-group 1 mode on

Hall of Fame Super Bronze

Re: Interface leaving a portchannel

These ports are configured as trunked. When they are in disconnect state, they fall back to their native Vlan, which by default is Vlan 1.

What you are seeing is normal.

Can you replace the cable and/or SFP connectors (if any) between these switches ?

You can experiment and swap the connectors/cables between the 2 links (the ones that work vs the non-working one) and see if the problem follows the connectors/cables.

HTH,

New Member

Re: Interface leaving a portchannel

It was a layer 1 issue. I pushed on the back of every cable (it is patched in three different places) and the port is now backup, and once again a member of the port-channel. The cable was plugged in but could 'ever so sligtly' wiggle within the jack.

Thanks,

3340
Views
5
Helpful
7
Replies