Views
Helpful
Replies

Layer 3 switch vs Router for terminating ISP link

Peter Coggle
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am a newbie to the world of routing and switching.

Our company is planning to start a new site and the internet service provider is providing a 100 Mbps link.

I am confused about the options about where to terminate the ISP link.

Can I terminate it on the layer 3 switch 3750X (which will also be the core switch for the remote site)?

or should I need to buy a new 3925 router to terminate the ISP link?

What are the general guidelines to decide? Can you please help?

Regards

Pete

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer

The Author of this posting offers the information contained within this posting without consideration and with the reader's understanding that there's no implied or expressed suitability or fitness for any purpose. Information provided is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as rendering professional advice of any kind. Usage of this posting's information is solely at reader's own risk.

Liability Disclaimer

In no event shall Author be liable for any damages whatsoever (including, without limitation, damages for loss of use, data or profit) arising out of the use or inability to use the posting's information even if Author has been advised of the possibility of such damage.

Posting

For a general guideline, you select hardware to meet both performance and feature requirements.  ISRs have a much, much richer feature set than L3 switches like the 3750X.  Without knowing what your feature requirements might be, I would lean toward the 3925.

View solution in original post

Martin Carr
Level 4
Level 4

You need a router, your switch does not support NAT.

I suspect you have been presented with a RJ45?

Martin

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer