Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Layer 3 Vs Router

Hi..

I am new in this field.

How a Layer 3 switch is technically different from a Router?

11 Replies 11

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

The main difference is that a L3 switch does L3 forwarding in hardware and a router does L3 forwarding in software.

That said there are hardware routers as well so the lines are more blurred than they used to be.

In addtion there are a lot of functional differences eg. routers generally have more QOS capabilities, can do NAT (which most switches can't), can terminate more media types, can do IPSEC etc. etc.

L3 switches are primarily used when you have a number of vlans and you want to route between them. Compared to a software router they have much higher throughput. Some of the higher end switches do have more L3 functionality but they generally still don't have as much as a router. 

Jon

Hi...

Thanx 4 d reply...It was very helpful.

can u help me related with port security issue..kindly follow the below link.

https://supportforums.cisco.com/discussion/12197626/mac-address-not-getting-sticked

Regards.

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer

The Author of this posting offers the information contained within this posting without consideration and with the reader's understanding that there's no implied or expressed suitability or fitness for any purpose. Information provided is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as rendering professional advice of any kind. Usage of this posting's information is solely at reader's own risk.

Liability Disclaimer

In no event shall Author be liable for any damages whatsoever (including, without limitation, damages for loss of use, data or profit) arising out of the use or inability to use the posting's information even if Author has been advised of the possibility of such damage.

Posting