Views
Helpful
Replies

Metro ethernet and ethernet

Jonn cos
Level 4
Level 4

Hi all,

I am new to metro ethernet concept. Can someone give me a head start and also, what are the differences in ME switches and normal switches ?

6 Replies 6

Jonn cos
Level 4
Level 4

why we cant use 3560x/3750x switches for metro ethernet ?

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Jonn,

This is a very vast question. I believe that you'd benefit from having a good look at the following presentations about Carrier Ethernet which is an incarnation of Metro Ethernet:

http://metroethernetforum.org/carrier-ethernet/presentations

The 3560/3750 switches would be partially applicable in Metro Ethernet applications; however, they do not support more complex tagging/untagging/retagging operations required by Metro Ethernet services, they do not support 802.1ah MAC-in-MAC (Provider Backbone Bridges) standard, the support for 802.1ad Q-in-Q is quite limited, they have no support for Ethernet OAM at all - to name just a few.

Please feel welcome to ask further but your primary stop should be the set of presentation on the page above, as it may answer lots of your questions right away.

Best regards,

Peter

Sir, to be honest i tried to read above presentations and they were a bit complex :-(. I will continue reading but i have a quick question,

MPLS layer 2 vpns are alternatives to metro ethernet ? i mean lets say if a customer wants 5 of his sites on the same broadcast domain (vlan) then we usually use EoMPLS or VPLS, so why do i need a metro ethernet ?

Basically what i am trying to ask is that is metro ethernet mandatory for MPLS services to work or we can simply have customers without ME ?

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Disclaimer