Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Community Member

Multicast in a single vlan on a single switch

I'm a newbie to multicasting, so forgive me.

Scenario - I have 3 Switched PDU that communicate amongst each other via multicasting. All 3 are on the same switch and in the same VLAN. 2 of the units see each other but the 3rd sees nothing. No filtering or ACLs involved.

My questions are;

1) On a Catalyst 2960G, IOS 12.2(25)SEE2, is there any configuration necessary to support multicast between ports on the same switch and vlan?

2) What debug commands can I run to see \ verify multicast traffic on the 2960?

Thanks

5 REPLIES
Hall of Fame Super Blue

Re: Multicast in a single vlan on a single switch

Hi

Have you enabled IGMP snooping on the switch. IGMP snooping will allow the switch to listen for IGMP responses and match these to the relevent ports.

However if you don't have a Layer 3 interface in the multicast environment then there will be nothing to issue the queries. In simple terms if no one is asking the question then there will be no answers to listen for. The solution is to enable the igmp querier function on the switch. This allows the switch to make the queries.

The 2960 with your version of the software will do igmp queriering.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6406/products_configuration_guide_chapter09186a00805a75e2.html

HTH

Community Member

so this switch runs igmp snooping by default, and there are a couple things that need to happen to allow an IGMP snooping switch to work correctly

1) The hosts send in an igmp membership reports

2) You have an IGMP querier on the segment

#2 is usually accomplished vi running PIM on a router in the vlan.

However you might be able to trick the 2960s but setting a static mrouter port and point it at the other 2960s down stream.

Here is the key output to grab. Basically its a cam table for multicast:

show ip igmp snoop group

Community Member