cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Multiple Machines with Same IP Address

caseyshaffer
Level 1
Level 1

I work in a factory that has 100's of machines that all run identical programs.  I would like to connect them to a network so I can access them remotely and also collect data.  Trouble is all of the machines have the same IP address because they are running the same program.  Is there a way to network them together using each unique MAC address instead of IP address for routing purposes? 

8 Replies 8

John Blakley
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Not that I'm aware of. Are they not networked now at all? Your best bet would be to put them on a subnet away from everything else on a separate vlan so you'll know what addresses to collect from.

HTH, John *** Please rate all useful posts ***

They are currently not networked together, but I would like them to be.  Each machine has several computers inside of it that runs different parts of the machine that are networked together.  I would like to connect each machine to some type of router (or unmanaged switch) without changing all of the IP addresses.

Each machine has 3 PC's with unique IP addresses connected to an unmanaged switch.  We have hundreds of these machines, but the 3 PC's within each different machine have the same IP address.  To change the IP addressess of all those PC's would be very cumbersome. 

You won't be able to get this to work unfortunately...IP conflicts abound. It sounds like you have a lot of work ahead of you.