Views
Helpful
Replies

New to VLans, Switching Routing and Cisco - need some help

ahmerhussain25
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all

Im new to Cisco just done the first part of the CCNA, im on a vertical learning curve lol

I hope you can help me out here with a little problem that im looking at

I have a main site and a branch site connected via a slow link

The client wants to keep that slow link in place but he is adding a new faster link between the two site, which is only going to be used by the pc’s in the sales department at both sites.

At the main site there is a 1812 Router and a few 3560 switches

At the branch site there is a 2911 Router and a few 3570 switches

Also only static routing is being used.

I was thinking do i need to create a Vlan on the switches just for the pc’s for the sales department and assign these vlans to the router switch ports for both sites.

I have set out these steps

• •1- Create vlan on main site switch – vlan 5
  • •2- For port range for sales dept set Switchport access vlan 5

• •3- On main site router create Vlan 5
  • •4- Pick an interface on main site router and assign ip address and vlan 5

Eg Interface fa3

Ip address xxxx (ip of new link and subnet)

Switchport access vlan 5

• •5- Do i need to put in a new static route?
  • •6- And do the same on the branch site

Im thinking i have got this totally wrong, I’ve been told that i need to create a Vlan on the main site router so i have been working on that basis. As you can see im a real novice so please let me know what commands i should be using.

Thanks guys and girl

4 Replies 4

Jeff Van Houten
Level 5
Level 5