cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Newbie - Switch Configuration

cpremo
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to Switch management and configuration, so please excuse the simplistic nature of this question.  Here is what I want to do.  I want to configure a 2950 with Three Different VLANs, interfaces 1-8 (VLAN 1), interfaces 9-16 (VLAN 2) and interfaces 17-24 (VLAN 3).  I have interface 0/1 connected to another switch on our LAN and it is communicating.  For now, I want to have VLAN 3 Blocked from talking to any thing except its own interfaces.  I want VLAN 2 able to communicate with VLAN 1, but most of the traffic should be just among devices in that VLAN.  I've issued the commands to configure my other two VLANs

SwitchA# vlan database

SwitchA(vlan)# vlan X name vlanX

SwitchA(vlan)# exit

I've assigned the interfaces to their respective VLANs.  Show Run displays this:

!
spanning-tree mode rapid-pvst
spanning-tree loopguard default
spanning-tree portfast bpduguard default
no spanning-tree optimize bpdu transmission
spanning-tree extend system-id
!
!
macro global description cisco-global

!

interface FastEthernet0/1-8
switchport trunk allowed vlan 1

!

interface FastEthernet0/9-16
switchport access vlan 2
!
interface FastEthernet0/17-24
switchport access vlan 3

!
interface Vlan1
ip address XXX.XXX.XX.X46 255.255.254.0
no ip route-cache
!
interface Vlan2
no ip address
no ip route-cache
shutdown
!
interface Vlan3
no ip address
no ip route-cache
shutdown

And Show VLAN displays this:

VLAN Name                        Status     Ports
----     -------------------------------- ------------- -------------------------------
1        default                       active      Fa0/1, Fa0/2, Fa0/3, Fa0/4
                                                         Fa0/5, Fa0/6, Fa0/7, Fa0/8
2        VLAN0002                 active      Fa0/9, Fa0/10, Fa0/11, Fa0/12
                                                         Fa0/13, Fa0/14, Fa0/15, Fa0/16