cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Optimized Edge Routing (OER) -- classes learning process.

Bacara.66
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone,

I am new here so let me introduce myself briefly.  My name is Alexis, I'm a Belgian IT student and I work in a small business environnement as a trainee. 

I am asked to found and setup a cisco solution that offers load balancing between two different ISP. 

I configured a first solution using IP SLA and PBR.  It work pretty well.  But the problem is it doesn't look like I can do dynamic load balancing. If I am wrong, dont hesitate to correct me.

Then I searched a little bit more and I found OER (Maybe better known as PfR today ?).  Cisco documentation says it can do intelligent load balancing so I suppose it's the perfect choice.

I started reading the whole document about it.  I have to admit, it was not easy to understand everything (still don't by the way) but I thought I could give it a try in a lab environnement.

To help you understand better, I joined the basic topology.

As you can see, I need to configure an OER master and an OER border on the same router (1841 with IOS Version 12.4(25d)).

The problem is that the router does not profile any traffic classes.  So the main process won't work since Profiling Traffic Classes is the first step in OER.  When I use the show oer master prefix command, I get nothing.  I expected to see classes related to the traffic going through the router...   Am I wrong ?

Of course if you need more information, just ask.

Hope you can help.  

Thank you.

Alexis

Here is the configuration I used :

version 12.4

service timestamps debug datetime msec

service timestamps log datetime msec

no service password-encryption

!

hostname Router

!

boot-start-marker

boot-end-marker

!

!

no aaa new-model

ip cef

!

!

!

!

no ip domain lookup

ip auth-proxy max-nodata-conns 3

ip admission max-nodata-conns 3

!

!

key chain OER

key 1