Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Procedure to remove 6500 modules

Hi there,

I want to remove FWSM and IDS modules from 6500.I will do in non-business day (maintenance day).But there is configuration related to both FWSM and IDS modules. Can I remove configs after shutting down chassis then physically removing modules? Or I must do removing configuration related to modules after physically removing them? What is the recommendation best practice here...Actually,I have no any experience for this case.

Thanks in advance,

HTH,
Please rate and mark as an accepted solution if you have found any of the information provided useful.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Mark Malone
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi

You don't need to remove the configuration , the modules in a 6500 are OIR online insertion removal and it can be done while the chassis is powered up and in operation fully

sometime if you remove specific modules the config gets removed anyway , so I would remove the module first out of the chassis , check the show mod after make sure everything is still ok and show logs too , then if there is still config there you can remove it

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Mark Malone
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi

You don't need to remove the configuration , the modules in a 6500 are OIR online insertion removal and it can be done while the chassis is powered up and in operation fully

sometime if you remove specific modules the config gets removed anyway , so I would remove the module first out of the chassis , check the show mod after make sure everything is still ok and show logs too , then if there is still config there you can remove it

Thanks for your quick reply.

I have recently seen that there is module clear-config command in global configuration mode and must be applied before removing module.

What does this command exactly do? Is it needed when removing FWSM or IDS modules either?

regards,

HTH,